Calhoun RCD





2017 Fall Newsletter

The vision of the organization is to provide local leadership required for developing and carrying out a plan for orderly conservation, improvement, development, and wise use of natural resources, thereby improving economic opportunities for all those entities within the Coosa Valley Resource Conservation and Development Project Area.




Mission of the Coosa Valley RC&D Area

     Dedicated to protecting, enhancing, and developing natural and human resources.


Background and Council Structure

The Coosa Valley RC&D Council is a 501(c) 3 tax-exempt organization, composed of eleven counties in east central Alabama.  These counties are:  Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Etowah, Randolph, St Clair, Talladega, and Tallapoosa. The Coosa Valley RC&D Council was authorized for operation in 1965 and included only 4 counties; Clay, St Clair, Calhoun, and Talladega.  In 1966, 3 additional counties were added, which included Etowah, Cherokee, and Cleburne.  Randolph and Chambers were added in 1971, and Coosa and Tallapoosa were added in 1973.  The RC&D area serves 4,326,980 acres.




powered by Doodlekit™ Free Website Maker